From Synthesio to Seesmic

Last sunday marked 1 year exactly that I’ve been in France, and it’s also been more than 2 years that I’ve been with Synthesio monitoring social media.

Working with Synthesio meant my 1st job as community manager, and the first time I truly experienced the “online world” and what it means for businesses and individuals. I spent much of my early time learning everything I could about the web, its workings, and the people there, before starting my own blog and becoming the Observing Participant.

As many of you have guessed or already know, I will always be a fan of Synthesio, but am moving on to new challenges. Before I do, though, I wanted to thank everyone that contributed to my experiences at Synthesio. You allowed me to :

  • discover a completely new culture. I love France. I love the web. I love the Frenchweb. I love the French in the web that are not in France and don’t speak with anyone that’s French at all. It’s excellent.
  • meet incredible people from all over the world : Mark Schafer and Trey Pennington, just to get started (or him ;) ) — all great reasons why I love the web
  • become more independent. I’ll never be on time (OK sometimes), but I will be independent ;D
  • discover a city I love every day (except when
  • appreciate being here while learning to love disconnecting, as well
  • become (slightly) more organized
  • become clearer about what I want to do with my life ! (TBA)
After 2 great years with Synthesio, I’m now ready to move on to new and different adventures.

When Loic le Meur and Cedric Giorgi approached me about working to develop Seesmic in France and in Europe, I said yes. Working with Seesmic will mean orking with a much smaller team — and a bigger one at the same time!

While Cédric and I will be the only 2 Seesmic employees working in France, the entire team is spread over the U.S., Europe, and Asia.

Starting June 27, I will also have new responsibilities. It only seems natural, though, to evolve to the next step of signing a contract together and maintaining contact as I do with any people I am in touch with today. It will be my second start-up experience that will allow me to stay in Paris while maintaining contact with people worldwide. I look forward to seeing all of you there and learning with you how we can move social media forward to something bigger.

In any case, I wanted to thank everyone at Synthesio. It has been great to work with all of you, and I’m looking forward to keeping in touch.

To the team of Seesmic, I am looking forward to working with all of you and getting to know this new international team!

Also!

I would like to announce that (consequently)

Synthesio is now hiring their next community manager ;)

Personal essays on why you think social media monitoring is ha-mazing and why you’re working on establishing [insert Thailand, Brazil or Australia] as the next social media bubble /economic force will be greatly appreciated

hr@synthesio.com

30 responses to “From Synthesio to Seesmic

  1. When I stumbled across Michmski, I did not have “community manager” in my vocabulary … but it was clear she was the archetypal good practitioner of whatever it was. (I’m very theoretical. That’s the way I talk. LoL)

    After watching a few of her videos, it was also clear she was as much fun fun fun as Rebecca Black, if not quite so famous. Working on it. ;-)

    Congratulations on the beautiful trajectory of your life and success… so far. Cheers.

    • I’M WORKING ON IT ;D

      I’m glad I could introduce a new term into your vocabulary and also get to know you via your tweets Keep coming around, it’s all good through here ;)

  2. Top Michelle !!!! Good Luck

    Jérôme

  3. Christian barluet

    Good luck Michelle !

  4. Congratulations! You’ll do well.

  5. Did I read Australia? :-)

  6. I just checked out Seesmic. It looks amazing. Definitely going to give it a test drive.

  7. Welcome, Michelle! I can’t wait until we are officially colleagues. Amazing how we discovered each other at different companies, and now we meet at Seesmic.
    See you soon,
    Liza
    Liza Sperling | http://www.twitter.com/lizasperling | Seesmic

    • It really is funny, but that’s how this crazy world goes. In any case I could see how great you were at ScoutLabs back in the day, I’m really excited about working with their entire team :)

      See you soon

  8. Super! You + Seesmic = the perfect combination. Well played. :)

  9. Welcome to the team Michelle. Looking forward to working with you in the near future. Stef a.k.a Mobile Raccoon. ;-)

  10. I’m so proud of you. I feel like in a small way you and I are on this journey together, step by step, and a big move forward for you just makes me so happy! Always here for you. Go get ‘em Michelle!!

  11. Pingback: Seesmic, un recrutement de qualité | Actualité | Locita

  12. Pingback: Welcome Aboard, Michelle! | Seesmic Blog

  13. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

