Taking time for yourself – even just 10 minutes.

For those of you that didn’t yet know – I’m moving to Paris next month!! I’ve been offered a job to work full time as the Community Manager for Synthesio and well…how could I say no???

And, so, with only a couple of weeks left and much – ok – all of my packing left to do, I found a little inspiration

so, for a nice Friday break, take a trip down memory lane with me🙂

After having spent the last month getting ready for the Monitoring Social Media Bootcamp in London, it’s nice to be able to finally “take a break” this week and just relax a bit in the evenings.

It seems as if we all try and fit so many things into our life sometimes at once, but we’re not all wizards with a little wand. Packing every thing we possibly can into every single day is just not as doable as we’d like.

It’s so much easier to say than do, but taking a few minutes for myself every day to do whatever it is that I want to do is truly a life saver.

Actually one trick that I have for when I’m planning my week is that I’ll plan every hour of the week, practically, just to keep me organized, but I always overestimate the time needed to complete a task on my To-Do list. This gives me just a little bit of flex time to work with, which

1° Gives me a huge energy boost when I finish something I had marked as taking 2 hours in a half hour!

2° Keeps me from getting stressed about getting something done so I can work on the next thing

Again, easier said than done, but it keeps me sane (I think😉 ).

What about you – – How do you stay zen?

8 responses to “Taking time for yourself – even just 10 minutes.

  1. Congrats on the move to Paris. Time for yourself if so important.

    I do a slight variation of the time schedule trick. I like to give myself earlier due dates than things actually are. Easier said than done, I’m a pretty good procrastinator.

  2. Congratulations! I’m so envious.

    I’ve been looking at buying a house in France, needing to escape the Nordic winters, but it’s going to take me a year or two because of commitments here.

    Look forward to hearing all about it on your blog.

    • I can’t imagine the winters where you are, I’m thrilled to be leaving northeastern US winters behind, at least

      I’ll keep you updated on the move🙂

  3. Regarding your question : “What about you – – How do you stay zen?”

    My answer is fairly simple : I can’t.

    I think this is why I love doing what I do : chasing information on the Web and understanding what it means. To me, it is like looking what lies behind the curtains.

    So, I guess that “I’m gonna live while I’m alive, I’ll sleep when I’m dead”.

    • Interesting. Yes, I agree with living while I’m alive and sleeping while I’m dead, but there’s no reason you can’t be alive and zen!😉
      Have you ever read “The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah” by Richard Bach? An excellent story of someone that truly discovers that being happy (or however you want to be) is all in your head..and isn’t it true..yesterday I was talking with my aunt that has had heart problems since she was born and was “supposed” to die by the time she was 24. She’s 50 something now and still stronger than all of us. Just goes to show you that you control your reality.

  4. Just one word about “The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah”, written after the famous “Jonathan Livingston Seagull” : the whole story is based on the fact that we are living in a world of illusions we made.

    I prefer to think that “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” It makes the whole thing spicier.

    • 😀 It all depends, I think, on whether you accept more of a fatalist version in which we have no control over our paths in life, or whether we decide what happens. In all honesty I think I’m somewhere in the middle belief-wise; that some things are meant to happen, and the choices that we make affect which paths we’ll be taken on..
      Thanks for stopping by Patrick🙂

Leave a Reply

