unplug

It’s been almost a year and a half now that I’ve been working online, and I have to say, sometimes I just get tired.

Don’t you?

I don’t know what it is, if it’s the constant strain on your eyes to focus on a computer screen, or the fact that it’s so easy NOT to disconnect in the evening that has become troublesome.

Don’t get me wrong – I love being here and talking with everyone and having this as my workspace and playspace. It’s just that for some reason it’s hard to turn off the computer and actually turn it off in my head.

I’ve thought perhaps it’s also because this is my first “real” job that I’ve been having trouble shutting my brain down at night. I leave work physically, but I’m still thinking about things I can do, people I’d like to contact.

And here’s the crazy part – I live in the land of the 35-hour work week!

You’d think I’d be able to give myself some slack and relax..

And I know I do sometimes. Maybe it’s still the perfectionist thing catching up with my butt again. Yeah, no, actually it probably is.

Here’s to the perfectionists in the room :

Flickr image credit

4 responses to “unplug

    • not a bad idea..😀
      I think I’m going to actually restart doing videos for my own blog..which may or may not go the way I want it to go…

  1. Your post made me smile. While I consider myself a recovering perfectionist, sometimes we don’t want to unplug because we have such a wider version of what else can be accomplished. 🙂

    Often we must remind ourselves to keep our expectations more realistic – and manage those of others as well.

Leave a Reply

