Now that’s influence

Ever since I’ve been working and living somewhat in the blogosphere I’ve found you’ll always run into bloggers that think they’re “influential”, meaning they may have some pull over a given number of people that follow them on Twitter, that read their blog, are “friends” with them on Facebook, etc.

Granted, they have some pull. But I have to admit I’ve always found it a bit funny to call certain people “influencers” or say they are “influential”.

Just because you read someone’s blog, are they truly going to influence how you think or act?

Last Saturday night, then, at U2’s concert at the Stade de France – back back up: we were invited to go and I actually discovered that while I like some of their ideas I’m actually not a huge fan of U2. The fist-pumping 40-year-old ladies in front of me were excellent though.

ANYWAYS, as we were leaving the concert before the big rush of the entire crowd, we stopped to look back at almost 100,000 40- and 50-somethings jumping with sheer joy, and almost an idolized look in the eyes of some as they fixed their eyes on the giant screen glowing over the stage. And all I could think was.. that’s influence.

When you can make 100,000 people pulsate to your rhythm, literally or figurally, chanting your ideas..

then you can say you’re influential

what do you think?

who is influential (truly) for you?

why?

6 responses to “Now that’s influence

  1. Good post Michelle to point out what is really lasting in our “social world”, and I think influence doesn’t last if you don’t sell any product or service.
    I mean, if you want to stay on the scene you’ll have to get back profit from your “influence”, in the contrary I’m not sure it will go very far.

  2. Correct, you’re talkin’ leadership here… What your priorities are reflect the effect you have on people.
    The success of influence is all in the goals of what you’re attempting to influence people to do. A parent is successful when their kid turns into an adult, sometimes in spite of their parenting. Someone who is concerned with thinking skills is successful when they get people to think. Someone who’s an entertainer is successful when they get people to jump up and down, buy their albums, pay the ticket entrance fees and appreciate them. A blogger can feel successful when they get lots of comments and interactions from their peer group – which may or may not be a mutual admiration society. Perhaps, it’s the buying of a product that is the objective. Then success is clearly when lots of people offer you a living by buying what you have to offer.

    • It’s not necessarily leadership, though. That’s the choice of the “influencer”. There are tons of music groups that are popular but not necessarily doing anything with this influence that they have over certain groups of people. And I’m not sure so much as it’s people buying what you have to offer as buying in to what you have to offer?..😉

  3. First, let me say that I appreciate that you post in French and English.

    I can’t say I really know what I think on the subject of influence. Of course we influence and are influenced. Growing up we are influenced by parents, teachers, and other adults. Then we become influenced by peers primarily.

    How do we determine which peers we let influence us? I know I’m primarily influenced by those who already share some context with me. Whether it be a shared activity or shared morals, if I feel I can trust a person’s opinion or taste in an area, I’m more inclined to trust that person in other areas.

    Of course, there is the opposite effect, the influence of the expert. I’ve seen this with my wife and I. For a year I’ve been practicing a new type of running (or old, depending on who you listen to) and have encouraged my wife to try it to see if it would help her with her injuries as it has mine. She dismissed my attempts, but after listening to an expert on it, has embraced this new style of running. Why didn’t she listen to me, her husband, and what made the expert’s opinion worth listening to? I don’t know.

    Also, there are degrees of influence. U2 influences several million people around the globe, but I think that influence is light and somewhat fleeting for most of those million. They enjoy their songs, but I don’t imagine many people became Christian from hearing “Pride”.

    Well, I’m certainly no authority on the subject, simply answering your question “what do you think?”

Leave a Reply

