From kissing youtube to kissing people

Now that I’m getting back into video blogging and brought you kiss youtube, I had to continue the theme😉

So – every Friday – a day in the life.

That is — the life of a 24-year-old American in Paris. (thanks Cyrille😉 )

This Friday : Les Bises

20 responses to “From kissing youtube to kissing people

  1. HAHAH I feel like I am ready to go to Paris now! Love it!

  2. Hello Michelle!

    What a nice vlog you have here! congrats…
    On kissing matters: time ago when I was wandering around France my girlfriend at that time introduced me one of her uncles, from Lyon. I guess he liked me so much that immediately attacked me with 4 kisses and a big hug!

    Coming from a “macho-driven” Latin culture this shocked me for a moment, then I began to figure out how this kissing rituals were, even amongst men. Now living in Finland, where people veeeeeery rarely kiss, (even to get too close is uncommon) I really miss those kissy episodes :o(

    See you around!
    @DJVassallo

  3. Sympa cette petite vidéo !

    Pour info, les français ont le problème inverse quand ils vont à l’étranger pour la première fois… J’en ai surpris plus d’une dans ma jeunesse😉

    Biz,
    Jibou

    • j’ai eu le même effet quand je suis rentrée aux US après une année en France; j’ai avancé pour leur donner des bisous et me suis retrouvée cul dans l’air, toute penchée
      normal

  4. Hahahaha oh man I remember a party back home in Manila — it was the first time in my life that I was the only one who wasn’t French, and I ended up being introduced to every one with les bisesO_o

    At least I was prepared when I got to Paris!😀

  5. Very funny !
    Every time I go to the US, I spread the idea of “les bises” and it seems my american friends loves it🙂

  6. Do not worry, Michelle. Although being a French man, I still do not feel comfortable with “les bises”.

    On this specific point, living in England for a while was quite comfortable a thing. At a point, I even wonder if I was not an English baby adopted by a French family🙂

    Along with the use of “tu” and “vous” on professional relationship…But I leave the subject up to a future video…

  7. Do not worry, Michelle. Although being a French man, I still do not feel comfortable with “les bises”.

    On this specific point, living in England for a while was quite comfortable a thing. At a point, I even wondered if I was not an English baby adopted by a French family🙂

    Along with the use of “tu” and “vous” on professional relationship…But I leave the subject up to a future video…

  8. Haha😀
    Il est amusant pour nous français, de voir le point de vue des “étrangers” à propos de nos coutumes. Ta vidéo retrace vraiment bien la réalité dans la vie parisienne (je suis un peu moins convaincu par l’usage du “buttslap” ^^), et effectivement, les règles changent très rapidement quand on se déplace en province !!!

    J’attend le prochain sujet avec impatience ! L’usage du tutoiement/vouvoiement dans le cadre professionnel (comme le suggère Patrick), le très connu et populaire french kiss … ?
    Biz😉

  9. Bien vu, la bise c’est un peu comme l’humour, ça dépend de la personne en face.. Bon courage. : )

  10. Bien vu, la bise c’est un peu comme l’humour, ça dépend aussi de la personne qui se trouve en face.. Bon courage. : )

  11. Michelle,

    Loved this video! Always wondered about ‘Les Bises’. Especially loving the Day In The Life clips. Fascinated by the cultural experiences of those of us who live abroad. Just got back from a trip to Morocco and it was quite the cultural experience. Anyway, been out of the loop but wanted to say bonjour!

    • Bonjour! I missed your comments so I’m glad to see you back again, and I can’t wait to go to Morocco, I’ve still never been there🙂

  12. Nice blog, you’re quite expressive and a sense of humour so the video are pretty agreeable to watch.

    Anyway, good, “les bises” is kinda weird for anyone who have not been in France at all ><.
    It's true though that there does not seem to be a lot of physical human contact such as hugs or "les bises" around the world. (I do not recall having seen hugs but between people who know each other very well ^^).

Leave a Reply

